The Group of Seven

Oil paintings of Canadian landscape by artists known as the Group of Seven or artists associated with them. The original group consisted of Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J. E. H. MacDonald, and Frederick Varley. Later, A. J. Casson was invited to join in 1926; Edwin Colgate became a member in 1930; and LeMoine Fitzgerald joined in 1932. Two artists commonly associated with the group are Tom Thomson and Emily Carr.
44 Pins57 Followers
Franklin Carmichael ~ Group of Seven

Franklin Carmichael Autumn Hillside 1920 Oil on canvas 76 x © Art Gallery of Ontario, Gift from the J. McLean Collection, Toronto © Courtesy of the Estate of Franklin Carmichael

Tom Thomson (Group of Seven)

Sunset, 1915 Tom Thomson Canadian, 1877 - 1917 oil on grey wood-pulp board x cm Bequest of Dr. MacCallum, Toronto, 1944 National Gallery of Canada (no.

"The Big Rock, Bon Echo," Arthur Lismer, 1922, oil on canvas, 36 x 40", National Gallery of Canada.

The Big Rock, Bon Echo, Arthur Lismer, oil on canvas, 36 x National Gallery of Canada.

"Quebec Uplands," Arthur Lismer, 1926, oil on canvas, 32.25 x 40.3", National Gallery of Canada.

Arthur Lismer, Quebec Uplands, oil on canvas, x cm, National Gallery of Canada