Scotiabank Giller Prize

The Scotiabank Giller Prize is Canada’s most distinguished literary prize, awarding $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.
11 Pins423 Followers
Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden WINNER 2008

Through Black Spruce - Joseph Boyden. Set in Moosonee, Ont., but also Toronto, Montreal and New York.

Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan WINNER 2011

Half Blood Blues by Esi Edugyan. "Two aging African-American musicians return to Berlin to find their friend, a jazz trumpeter arrested in Nazi-occupied France.

419 by Will Ferguson WINNER 2012

2012 Giller Award Winner - 419 by Will Ferguson. Another CFUW book circle pick and a great read!

Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien 2016 WINNER

Do Not Say We Have Nothing, by Madeleine Thien. An extraordinary novel set in…

Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill 2017 WINNER

Bellevue Square by Michael Redhill - Winner of the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize

Hellgoing: Stories by Lynn Coady WINNER 2013

With astonishing range and depth, Scotiabank Giller Prize finalist Lynn Coady gives us eight unforgettable new stories, each one of them grabbing our attention from the first line and resonating long after the last.

Fifteen Dogs by André Alexis WINNER 2015

Scotiabank Giller Prize 2015 - Fifteen Dogs by Andre Alexis

The first word in fiction for more than twenty years. The Giller Prize was founded in 1994 by Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife, literary journalist Doris Giller, who passed away from cancer the year before. The award recognized excellence in Canadian fiction – long format or short stories – and endowed a cash prize annually of $25,000.00, the largest purse for literature in the country.

Take a look at the history of past Scotiabank Giller Prize winners, shortlisted and longlisted authors, as well as the esteemed juries.