Cancel
More information
A Small Hotel
Find this Pin and more on Hotel Stories by Margaret Doyle.
What others are saying

Set in contemporary New Orleans but working its way back in time, "A Small Hotel" chronicles the relationship between Michael and Kelly Hays, who have decided to separate after 24 years of marriage.

A Small Hotel by Robert Olen Butler. I picked this up because of the New Orleans connection. I found the structure confusing and at the same time appealing - switching between points of view and time. Sad but captivating.

On the official last day of her marriage, Kelly Hays sits in a New Orleans hotel room alone amid bottles of Scotch while her husband, Michael, checks into a different hotel with a sexy, decades-younger woman.

a small hotel - complete recommended if you like the three junes

A Small Hotel

A Small Hotel

They’re (Paper) Ba-ack: July 10, 2012

A Small Hotel (Robert Olen Butler)

Similar ideas

Cancel
More information
Great book. Couldn't put it down. Covers from the1890s to 1968.
Find this Pin and more on Books by Alexis Maubach.
What others are saying

All about The Butterfly Cabinet: A Novel by Bernie McGill. LibraryThing is a cataloging and social networking site for booklovers

The Butterfly Cabinet by Bernie McGill, available at Book Depository with free delivery worldwide.

The Butterfly Cabinet was mediocre at best. The plot twist should have had more impact than it did.

The Butterfly Cabinet. Such an awful and sad story, especially since it's true.

Great book. Couldn't put it down. Covers from the1890s to 1968.

Great book. Couldn't put it down. Covers from the1890s to 1968.
Cancel
More information
Review: The Darlings by Cristina Alger.
Find this Pin and more on Book Reviews by Typographical Era.
What others are saying

Posited as a 'sophisticated page-turner about a wealthy New York family embroiled in a financial scandal.' Not literary fiction, but an interesting look at a certain slice of NY society.

Cristina Alger yanks you back to fall 2008 when NYC was in financial crisis. She expertly laces several stories together to show how a high-society family, attorneys, and journalists scramble to get to the bottom of scandal — or cover it up.

The Darlings: A Novel, by Christina Alger - beach read

'I had deep affection for all my characters': Former Goldman Sachs analyst draws on personal experience for novel set during financial crisis

Review: The Darlings by Cristina Alger.

Review: The Darlings by Cristina Alger.
Cancel
More information
You won’t go to sleep until you finished this book! Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson -bookerina.com
Find this Pin and more on Books by Rina.
What others are saying

Watson - This looks really good!

You won’t go to sleep until you finished this book! Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson -bookerina.com

You won’t go to sleep until you finished this book! Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson -bookerina.com
Cancel
More information
What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank ... join us for a Twitter discussion with the author on March 27th from 12:30PM-1:15PM (EST)!
Find this Pin and more on Jewish Book World by Gabor Por.
What others are saying

In What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank, Nathan Englander writes about his own faith — and what it means to be Jewish — in stories that explore religious tension, Israeli-American relations and the Holocaust.

great new book from nathan englander

What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank ... join us for a Twitter discussion with the author on March 27th from 12:30PM-1:15PM (EST)!

What We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank  ... join us for a Twitter discussion with the author on March 27th from 12:30PM-1:15PM (EST)!
Cancel
More information
The Happiness Project. A Less Dramatic Eat, Pray, Love
Find this Pin and more on Books Worth Reading by Ginger Finkbeiner.
What others are saying

Wedding dress cake books-i-want-to-read

I think I'm reading it for the third time and doing my own happiness project. i gretchen rubin!

About to embark on "The Happiness Project". Have heard great things!

On my summer reading list.

The Happiness Project. A Less Dramatic Eat, Pray, Love

The Happiness Project. A Less Dramatic Eat, Pray, Love
Cancel
More information
By Nightfall. A look inside the New York art gallery scene, when a gallery owner's life is upended by careless behavior of an in-law.
What others are saying

'By Nightfall,' by Michael Cunningham

By Nightfall Audiobook on Libro.

By Nightfall. A look inside the New York art gallery scene, when a gallery owner's life is upended by careless behavior of an in-law.

People also love these ideas

Deception Point by Dan Brown; This is my favorite Dan Brown book despite the fact that Da Vinci Code had a lot more hype. Do yourself a favor and read this book.

Deception Point

Deception Point: Dan Brown Not going to lie, I've read all of Dan Brown's books and enjoyed all o them, dug this one as it was a female lead.

A murder on a Louisiana plantation dredges up a more-than-a-century-old mystery involving the farm’s former slave quarters.

The Cutting Season ~ Attica Locke. “The Cutting Season is a novel about the shifting definitions of family, the persistent pull of history, the sterling promise of home, and the stunning power of love." Need to read

Memory Keepers Daughter.

The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards

Fishpond Australia, The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards. Buy Books online: The Memory Keeper's Daughter, ISBN Kim Edwards

“Yes, of course we were pretentious — what else is youth for?”~ Julian Barnes, The Sense of an Ending

Winner of the 2011 Man Booker Prize A novel so compelling that it begs to be read in a single sitting, with stunning psychological and emotional depth and sophistication, The Sense of an Ending is a brilliant new chapter in Julian Barnes’s oeuvre.

Historical Fiction, Mystery, Murder...read a review on Silver's Reviews.    The fair was a success, it was over, the fair was missed, and Mr. Holmes was missing.    The book was great historically...seeing all these names of people who invented things was great...the mystery surrounding Mr. Holmes was gruesome, but fit nicely into the story's plot. You will enjoy the book, but can skip some of the pages telling about the constructing of the the World's Fair Buildings.

The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson

The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson-Historical fiction set at the Chicago World's Fair. Learned alot about architecture and Chicago World's Fair . Also a crime novel about the first Chicago serial killer.

This sounds so good

I Gave My Heart to Know This: A Novel

I Gave My Heart to Know This by Ellen Baker. A riveting story of loyalties held and sacred bonds broken; crushing loss and enduring dreams; and what it takes--and what it means--to find the way home.

"Ann Patchett has written a novel that is as lyrical and profound as it is unforgettable. Bel Canto is a virtuoso performance by one of our best and most important writers."

Soy Chai Bookshelf: Bel Canto ~ Ann Patchett, one of my all time favorite books. I'm afraid to re-read it in case I don't love it as much the second time.

5. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold - 7 Books to Read before You Die ... → Books

The Lovely Bones - Alice Sebold. I cried often reading this book, but it's one of the best I've read. HATED THE MOVIE!

Read the first book in the #1New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan...  http://www.overstock.com/4567381/product.html?CID=245307

Read the first book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent . The Maze Runner is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MT

Sister - Rosamund Lupton

When her mom calls to tell her that Tess, her younger sister, is missing, Bee returns home to London on the first flight. She expects to find Tess and give her the usual lecture, the bossy big sister… read more at Kobo.

A recently divorced woman rises to the challenge and experiences the exhilaration of independence with the unlikely help of her brother with...

In this warm and winning first novel, a recently divorced woman rises to the challenge and experiences the exhilaration of independence with the unlikely help of her brother with Asperger's, who she takes in to help pay the rent.

Leah Hager Cohen - 'The Grief of Others' (2011)

The Grief of Others by Leah Hager Cohen. "Even as her characters spiral closer to self-destruction, Cohen creates gorgeous, uncommon descriptions that sound like grace notes on her pages.

Pinterest
Search
Explore more ideas with a Pinterest account

Access our best ideas with a free account

Sign up to see more

OR

By continuing, you agree to Pinterest's Terms of Service, Privacy Policy
Already a member?
Log in
Pinterest helps you find ideas to try.